Tempo coordinato universale

Il tempo coordinato universale, conosciuto anche come tempo civile e abbreviato con la sigla UTC (compromesso tra l'inglese "Coordinated Universal Time" e il francese "Temps universel coordonné"), è il fuso orario di riferimento da cui sono calcolati tutti gli altri fusi orari del mondo. Esso è derivato dal tempo medio di Greenwich (in inglese "Greenwich Mean Time", GMT), con il quale coincide a meno di approssimazioni infinitesimali, e perciò talvolta è ancora chiamato GMT.
Il nuovo nome è stato coniato per non dover menzionare una specifica località in uno standard internazionale. L'UTC si basa su misurazioni condotte da orologi atomici invece che su fenomeni celesti come il GMT.
La sigla "UTC" è così formata: si tratta di una variante di tempo universale, abbreviato in UT, e modificato con l'aggiunta del suffisso C (che sta per "coordinato"), per rafforzare l'idea che si tratti di un'adozione da parte di tutti e per poter avere una codifica a 3 caratteri in modo da seguire lo standard per le indicazioni dei fusi orari (e.g.: CET per Central European Time in Europa, EST per Eastern Standard Time negli USA, ecc.). (fonte: Wikipedia)

Metso to publish its Financial Statements Review for 2015 on Thursday, February 4, 2016

Metso to publish its Financial Statements Review for 2015 on Thursday, February 4, 2016 Metso Corporation's press release on January 21, 2016 at 14:15 EET Metso Corporation's Financial Statements Review 2015 will be published on Thursday, February 4, 2016 at about 9:00 a.m. EET (2:00 EST, 7:00 UTC, 8:00 CET). The Financial Statements Review will also be available at www.metso.com/latestreports...
21/01/2016 13:16

Dutch Safety Board: Buk Surface-to-Air Missile System Caused MH17 Crash

In response to the crash of flight MH17 the Dutch Safety Board has conducted various investigations, which have been published in two reports. The first report is on the causes of the crash and the issue of flying over conflict areas. The second report is on the compilation of the passenger list and the process of informing the relatives of the Dutch victims. The rationale behind the investigations has been published separately.
13/10/2015 14:45

UTC Founder Ayabatwa: Rwanda Government which Illegally Seized UTC in 2013 Now Condemns The Company For Defaulting On Taxes

For David Himbara, senior adviser to UTC founder Tribert Rujugiro Ayabatwa, the latest development defeats logic. "The government expropriated UTC in 2013 claiming it was abandoned because its main shareholder resided outside Rwanda. This was of course a bizarre and illegal act. Owners of almost all large Rwanda-based companies live outside the country. For government to now denounce UTC as tax dodger is extraordinary. It is like a CEO declaring himself incompetent."
27/08/2015 08:30
Loading....